Board Members

Current Board Members

District I Mr. Floyd McDonald, Chairman (Cosmetologist) 5726 Deerwood Drive North
Mobile, AL 36618 (251) 554-3527 term expires 5/18/2023
District II Mr. Daniel Powers, Investigative Committee Member (Barber) 429 S. Oates St.
Dothan, AL 36301 (334) 350-7887 term expires 4/17/2024
District III Mr. General Jackson (Barber) 416 West 15 Street, Anniston, AL 36201 (256) 310-2609 term expires 11/24/21
District IV Ms. Tracy White Smith, Vice-Chair (Cosmetologist Instructor) 513 Townsend Dr. NE, Hanceville, AL 35077 (256) 708-5315 term expires 5/18/22
District V Ms. Kathy Linden, Secretary/Treasurer (Consumer) 1403 Chandler Road, Huntsville, AL 35801 (256) 881-2818 term expires 4/9/2022
District VI Vacant (Manicurist)        
District VII Ms. Michelle Callahan-Alvis (Esthetician) 3800 James Hill Circle, Hoover, AL 35226 (205) 789-8740 term expires 4/17/2020 (serve until filled)


2022 Board Meeting Dates

Board meetings are held in the RSA Union Building, 100 North Union Street, Room 300, Montgomery, Alabama 36104. All meeting times are at 10:00 a.m.

  • January 10
  • April 11
  • July 11
  • October 17

Board Meetings

Our board meetings are open to the public. All are welcome to attend. If you wish to address the Board, please send a written request to the Board Office at least 5 days before the Board meeting is scheduled. Please include your name, contact number(s) and reason for addressing the Board.

Board Meeting Minutes

7/12/21 5/3/21

How Do I Become a Board Member

All Board Members are appointed by the Governor.  If you are interested in becoming a Board Member, please send your resume to the Governor and request consideration as a Board Member.

Section 34-7B-2

There is created the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering which shall consist of seven persons appointed by the Governor.  The membership of the board shall include all of the following:

Two (2) active cosmetologist who have been licensed for at least five years before appointment.

Two (2) active Class 2 barbers who have been practicing in the state for at least five years before appointment.

One (1) active esthetician who has been licensed by the board for at least five years before appointment.

One (1) active manicurist who has been licensed by the board for at least five years before appointment.

One (1) consumer.

One member shall be appointed from each congressional district, as those districts are constituted on August 1, 2013, and shall reside in the district he or she represents during the entire term of office.  The member of the board shall be inclusive and reflect the racial, gender, geographic, urban/rural, and economic diversity of the state.

Office Contact Information

Physical Location:
Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
100 North Union Street, Suite 324
Montgomery, AL 36104

Mailing Address:
Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
P.O. Box 301750
Montgomery, AL 36130-1750

Toll Free:        1-800-815-7453
Telephone:     334-242-1918
Fax:                334-242-1926